SH.org OP Date
2019-10-21 20:29:51
SH.org Reaction Score
SH.org Reply Count

Timeshifter

Staff member
Trusted Member
Reaction score
Yep, thats right, hidden for 450 years and poof, its back, right on time....

plautilla_nelli_07.jpg
Prior to 'restoration'

TELEMMGLPICT000183607299_trans_NvBQzQNjv4BqpVlberWd9EgFPZtcLiMQfyf2A9a6I9YchsjMeADBa08.jpeg
Post restoration. No way is that 6.5ft high....​

'Around 1568, Florentine nun Plautilla Nelli—a self-taught painter who ran an all-woman artists’ workshop out of her convent (As you do)—embarked on her most ambitious project yet: a monumental Last Supper scene featuring life-size depictions of Jesus and the 12 Apostles'

Life size! Not bad for someone not suposed to be doing anything deamed manly, like painting... I wonder where she hid it?

'As Alexandra Korey writes for the Florentine, Nelli’s roughly 21- by 6-and-a-half foot canvas is remarkable for its challenging composition, adept treatment of anatomy at a time when women were banned from studying the scientific field, and chosen subject. During the Renaissance, the majority of individuals who painted the biblical scene were male artists at the pinnacle of their careers. Per the nonprofit Advancing Women Artists organization, which restores and exhibits works by Florence’s female artists, Nelli’s masterpiece placed her among the ranks of such painters as Leonardo da Vinci, Domenico Ghirlandaio and Pietro Perugino, all of whom created versions of the Last Supper “to prove their prowess as art professionals.”

Another psuedo character?

So this thing goes through hell and storage and right now it pops back into existance.

The Renaissance, eh! Where would we be without it?

Headline maintenance right here!
Note: This OP was recovered from the Wayback Archive.
Note: Archived Sh.org replies to this OP are included in this thread.

KD Archive

Not actually KorbenDallas
Trusted Member
Reaction score
Note: This post was recovered from the Sh.org archive.