The Downfall of Classical Music

freygeist

Trusted Member
Reaction score
There are two major art forms of the lost culture. Performing arts and Visual arts. Now, one can argue forever which form is more profound in enlightening and raising the human soul. Being a musician myself, i have to say Music is the highest form of Art. Its the direct language of God.

We hear this, when we listen to the old european masters of Classical Music, we get a sense of ultimate glory, but also the opposite, ultimate despair.

Here are two examples form the great Ludwig van Beethoven, showing that dualism:

Glory

Despair

The classical age of music is commonly divided between the Baroque Era, the actual Classical Era (Wiener Klassik), and the Romantic Era, and the predecessor ages are rather obscure which is interesting, because we have this huge amount of musical literature of ca 300 years, but nothing substantial before that, and even of the remaining literature much manuscripts are lost, and we only have published first editions.
To this day this music is considered of the highest virtue, and one has to work deeply to understand and fully deliver this music. It is essentially a task for your whole life, as most old pianists age like fine wine, and delivered truly eternal performances, like music out of other spheres.

Now lets take the rabbit hole into consideration:

Composers like Mozart and Bach delivered not only music of the highest quality, but also quantity. While being stylistically different, they both excelled in every musical genre, from vocal to instrumental, and left a vast legacy behind, and every later composer is somehow influenced by these two. Bach was known for applying essential elements of nature in his music, like the "proportia divina", meaning that by 2/3 in the piece the culmination of the melodic and harmonic progression would happen.